The path to life…

Standard
St. Francis of Assisi (circa 1182-1220)
Image via Wikipedia

Gift: Knowledge – With the gift of knowledge, we understand the meaning of God’s Revelation, especially as expressed in the life and words of Jesus Christ. A person with knowledge is always learning more about the scriptures and Tradition.

Reading:  You will show me the path to life, abounding joy in your presence, the delights at your right hand forever.  (Psalms 16:11)

Observation:  I have tried to focus on praying the rosary on a daily basis, since the 40 days for life started last week.  Ironically enough, the groundbreaking ceremony for a new Planned Parenthood abortion clinic in our community happened on the first day of the National 40 Days for Life campaign.  If that is not a call to make this campaign a part of my daily routine, maybe the fact that Ennie Hickman’s reflection on today being the Solemnity of Saint Francis of Assisi included a reminder to pray the rosary daily.  It took me a little research to find the readings for today’s Solemnity Mass, but I think the 11th verse of the 16th chapter of Psalms shows why it was worth the time it took to find today.

Personification:  Faithfulness  I can’t say that I have been able to pray a rosary every day since September 28th, or the beginning of the 40 Days for Life.  However, I am resolved to take the verse that I chose from the Psalms to reflect on today, and the call from Ennie Hickman’s blog post yesterday, as a reminder to display the fruit of faithfulness like Saint Francis of Assisi.  As if all the other “coincidences” weren’t enough, how about the prayer that I posted yesterday, before I even knew that it was going to be the Solemnity of Saint Francis of Assisi Mass celebrated today.  Of course, I will repeat it today…

Prayer:   (Saint Francis Prayer)

Lord, make me an instrument of your peace.
Where there is hatred, let me sow love.
Where there is injury, pardon.
Where there is doubt, faith.
Where there is despair, hope.
Where there is darkness, light.
Where there is sadness, joy.
O Divine Master,
grant that I may not so much seek to be consoled, as to console;
to be understood, as to understand;
to be loved, as to love.
For it is in giving that we receive.
It is in pardoning that we are pardoned,
and it is in dying that we are born to Eternal Life.
I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.
Leave a Reply

