God only gives gifts to those who ask for them…

Standard
Holy Spirit

Image by micmol  via Flickr

Gift: Piety (Reverence) – With the gift of reverence, sometimes called piety, we have a deep sense of respect for God and the Church. A person with reverence recognizes our total reliance on God and comes before God with humility, trust, and love.

Reading:  “If you then, who are wicked, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will the Father in heaven give the holy Spirit* to those who ask him?”  (Luke 11:13) 

Observation:  I didn’t choose the title for my blog post today because I want to point out that God is giving me gifts because I asked for them.  Rather, it is my hope to grab the attention of people who come across my blog today and relay the message that I hear in today’s gospel reading.  That is, that in order for a gift to be given, it must first be asked for.  The God of the universe will see how to best grant our request and we, with his grace, will be able to see that we have received what we were asking for.

Personification:  Joy  It is funny that I chose to focus on displaying the fruit of joy as I have to remind my older son for the fifth time to get out the shower and my middle son for the third time to get dressed.  It is difficult to see sometimes how I could be able to be joyful when I have to discipline my children, but it sure does give me some insight into how the God of the universe feels when he has to discipline me.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to be full of joy that comes from following your will today.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

