The Kingdom of God is at hand for you! (Luke 10:9b)

Standard
Fol. 104v and 105r of the Egmond Gospels. The ...

Image via Wikipedia

Gift: Wisdom– With the gift of wisdom, we see God at work in our lives and in the world. For the wise person, the wonders of nature, historical events, and the ups and downs of our lives take on deeper meaning. The matters of judgment about the truth, and being able to see the image of God.

Reading:  Go on your way; behold, I am sending you like lambs among wolves.  (Luke 10:3)

Observation:  Since today we celebrate the feast of Saint Luke, the evangelist, who wrote the gospel that bears his name and the Acts of the Apostles that gives us a glimpse of the lives of the first disciples of Jesus; I thought I would journal about two verses from his version of the gospel, that makes up part of our gospel reading for today’s Mass readings.  This journal entry is in response to the feeling that I had when I left the City Council meeting last night, where we made our voice heard in opposition to the abortion clinic that is being built-in our city.  I left the meeting feeling like evil had won the day.  I wish I would have remembered this verse from Luke’s gospel, maybe I wouldn’t have let it bother me so much that evil had won the day, because I already knew that we were sent in like sheep among wolves.

Personification: Peace  If I am going to display the fruit of peace in my life, I must remember to live out the gospel in the world as it is and have faith that God will change what needs to be changed.  I will pray for the things that I think are wrong and wait patiently for God’s will to be done.

Prayer:  Lord, I pray that all those misguided by Satan into believing the lies about “abortion mills” like Planned Parenthood would have their eyes opened to the truth, especially those that would call themselves “Catholic”.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

