For when you were slaves of sin, you were free from righteousness.* (Romans 6:20)

Standard
Saint George Preca has been likened as a succe...

Image via Wikipedia

Gift: Fortitude (Courage) – With the gift of courage, we overcome our fear and are willing to take risk as a follower of Jesus. A person with courage is willing to stand up for what is right in the sight of God, even if it means accepting rejection, verbal abuse, or even physical harm and death.

Reading:  But now that you have been freed from sin and have become slaves of God, the benefit that you have leads to sanctification,* and its end is eternal life.  (Romans 6:22)

Observation:  I have struggled this week with the way that sin is related to death and that we are sinners as long as we are in the flesh.  I like the irony of the verse that I used for my title today, as the footnotes say that freedom from righteousness would really be tyranny.  To me, freedom from righteousness would really feel like an evil possession.  I have read forward in the readings for the next two days and I am hopeful that the message of this particular section of the letter to the Romans will make more sense to me by Saturday.

Personification:  Peace  It is my hope that I can display the fruit of peace in my life.  I am seeing with the readings today and the experience of my life that real peace only comes with the knowledge that is completed in the Word of God.  I don’t know if this is true in all cases, but I am sure that the mystery of God’s presence in the Word will prove this to be true.  If ever I feel like I am lost in my life, I need only escape this world into the world of God’s Word.

Prayer:  Lord, please help me to stay focused on you by staying in your Word and never feel too far away from you by focusing on what you are saying to me.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

