Why change the gospel for today?

Standard
Gospel of Matthew
Image by Hawk Eyes via Flickr

For those of you that follow my blog regularly, I apologize for taking the past few days off.  I have struggled with getting my mind engaged in the morning and being able to actually journal on the readings.  However, I have prepared a talk for the youth ministry group today and I plan on changing the gospel reading to sound a little more relevant to the group, and I hope this journal shows justification for that…

Gift:  Counsel (Right Judgment) – With the gift of right judgment, we know the difference between right and wrong, and we choose to do what is right. A person with right judgment avoids sin and lives out the values taught by Jesus.

Reading:  Then we who are alive, who are left, will be caught up together* with them in the clouds to meet the Lord in the air. Thus we shall always be with the Lord.  (1 Thessalonians 4:17)

Observation:  So, the gospel for today’s Mass has Jesus telling a parable of ten virgins to explain what it will be like during the time of the coming of the kingdom of heaven to earth.  I believe that we should believe that Jesus brought his kingdom to earth already in the form of the church, but he is discussing the final coming, when he returns to restore the believers to his perfection.  I got this from the footnote from the gospel reading in Matthew’s gospel, and from the long version of the second reading for today’s Mass.  So, I intend to change the oil that the virgins had or didn’t have to the way that they choose to dress.  The reason I am using that change in the parable and not anything else, is because the virgins who choose to dress inappropriately, will justify it because they are virgins and their chastity is not in question.  However, at the end of the gospel, when the bridegroom comes, and he is dressed for a formal ball, they will realize that they should not have been concerned with how they were affecting others.  I will finish by reminding the boys that they are not free from blame, if they condone or hope that they see young women dressed inappropriately.  What if the bridegroom were to show them all the women that we have lusted for, and not tell them that they were dressed inappropriately.

Personification:  Joy  Since, I was able to make it to confession last night, I feel like I should be able to display the fruit of joy in my life today.  I was going to choose to focus on gentleness or kindness, but it seems to me that real joy will be a better fruit to display when delivering the message that I will be delivering today.

Prayer:  Lord, give me the strength to stay on topic and not allow the discussion tonight to stray from the words that you want the young people to hear.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

One thought on “Why change the gospel for today?

Leave a Reply

