When my enemies turn back, they stumble and perish before you. (Psalm 9:4)

Standard
Scroll of the Psalms

Image via Wikipedia

As I  read the Responsorial Psalm this morning, for the second time, I realized that the verse that says because my enemies were turned back right after we say that we give praise and glory to God is hard to hear.  However, when I read the most current translation of that verse, it says what I have posted in my title for my journal today.  So, rather than feel like the because statement is referring to a previous verse, it is more obvious to me that it is a new statement that stands on its own.  I am thankful to God for turning back my enemies, but the praise I give him is because of God is all good and deserving of it, not for anything that was done for me.  Especially, since as the latter verse says in both the responsorial and the new translation, it was their own pit that our enemies dug, that they will fall into.  I must be careful to not fall into my own pit and not concern myself with how worthy I am to be protected.  It goes without saying, that if my worth was the cost of protection from evil, I would be constantly under attack, because I am not worthy of anything but judgment.

Lord Jesus Christ, Son of God, have mercy on me a sinner.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

7 thoughts on “When my enemies turn back, they stumble and perish before you. (Psalm 9:4)

  1. Excellent blog! Do you have any recommendations for aspiring writers? I’m planning to start my own blog soon but I’m a little lost on everything. Would you suggest starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option? There are so many options out there that I’m totally overwhelmed .. Any ideas? Kudos!

    • I suggest the WordPress free platform first and see if you have a need for a paid platform later. I have found that the free platform works well for my blogging, and I pray that you find peace in your blogging experience…God bless you!

  2. You actually make it seem really easy together with your presentation however I to find this topic to be really something which I believe I might never understand. It kind of feels too complicated and very vast for me. I’m having a look forward to your next submit, I’ll attempt to get the dangle of it!

  3. Were a group of volunteers and opening a new scheme in our community. Your site offered us with valuable information to work on. You have done an impressive job and our whole community will be thankful to you.

Leave a comment