Is my house about to collapse?

Standard

Gift:  Piety (Reverence) – With the gift of reverence, sometimes called piety, we have a deep sense of respect for God and the Church. A person with reverence recognizes our total reliance on God and comes before God with humility, trust, and love.

Reading:  “And everyone who listens to these words of mine but does not act on them will be like a fool who built his house on sandThe rain fell, the floods came, and the winds blew and buffeted the house. And it collapsed and was completely ruined.”  (Matthew 7:26-27)

Observation:  As I heard the words read that ended the gospel reading today at this morning’s Mass, I wrote the words that concluded the 27th verse in my journal.  I couldn’t help but feel like the words of Jesus were speaking directly to me this morning.  It is true that I do what I can to follow the will of God in my life, but I always feel like I am coming up woefully short in faithfully following all of his commandments.  It is not like I do things that impact others people’s lives at all, it is just an interior battle that I fight with myself, which makes that words of Father Jaspers homily mean so much more when he said that we must remember to love ourselves. (Refer to Leviticus 19:18 and Matthew 19:19)

Personification:  Love    Whenever I have journaled on the displaying the fruit of love before, I believe I have always talked about ways to show the love of God to others, and I feel like I need to remember today to allow myself to be loved by the creator of the universe. He sent his Son to die for me too, not just the others around me. Besides, if I don’t really love myself, how can I love others, as I do myself. Right?

Prayer:  O my God, I am heartily sorry for having offended you and I detest all of my sins, because of your just punishments…But most of all because your are all good and deserving of my love…I firmly resolve, with the help of your grace, to sin no more and to avoid the near occasion of sin.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

As the priest says after reading the gospel, “Through the words of the Gospel may our sins be wiped away.”

Leave a Reply

