Son of David, have pity on us…

Standard

Gift:  Fear of the Lord (Wonder and Awe) – With the gift of wonder and awe (fear of the lord), we are aware of the glory and majesty of God. A person with wonder and awe knows that God is the perfection of all we desire: perfect knowledge, perfect goodness, perfect power, and perfect love.

Reading:  And as Jesus passed on from there, two blind men followed [him], crying out, “Son of David,* have pity on us!”  Matthew 9:27)

Observation:  Again, as I read the readings this morning, I did not have any real feelings toward journaling on any of the verses that I read.  However, once I heard this verse read by Father Jaspers at Mass this morning, I realized that I am the one who is asking for Jesus to have pity on me.  It is a spiritual blindness that I have walked through much of my life with, and I am thankful to Jesus for healing me of this blindness.

Personification Self-Control  As I write this, I don’t know if I can truly display the fruit of self-control.  I have shown throughout my life that I lack the fortitude to display the fruit of self-control, which comes from the fact that I have always seen myself as not worthy of being loved by anyone.  Sure, I have always felt like I was special in the eyes of the world, but never loved in the eyes of my creator.  I believe that it is the knowledge of God’s love for me that will save me from myself.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to remember that it is only in the knowledge of your love and the sharing of this love, that I am made into the man that you made me to be.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

One thought on “Son of David, have pity on us…

  1. When such mysteries are unlocked they don’t necessarily put an end to the awe and wonder. As often as not, they lead to a gateway behind which lies more mystery, more inviting fascination. It’s as if the Creation is an unfolding drama and we’re but one of the actors searching for its plot line. We seek to know what lies beyond the beating heart of a mosquito and a malevolent parasite. We search to understand the flight of a lovely, fragile creature that leads us to flights of imagination, thoughts of beauty, and to wonder how it all fits together.

Leave a Reply

