The Kingdom of heaven is at hand…Repent and believe in the Gospel!

Standard

Gift:  Fortitude (Courage) – With the gift of courage, we overcome our fear and are willing to take risk as a follower of Jesus. A person with courage is willing to stand up for what is right in the sight of God, even if it means accepting rejection, verbal abuse, or even physical harm and death.

Reading:  As you go, make this proclamation: ‘The kingdom of heaven is at hand.’  (Matthew 10:7)

Observation:  The first part of my title comes from the gospel reading today, and the second part was from my journal entry at Mass yesterday.  My actual entry started with my title for yesterday’s post, and a request for God to restore my sight, but I stopped short of discussing the last entry in my written journal on yesterday’s post.  Since the verse that I quoted above from Matthew’s gospel is an admonition from Jesus to his apostles to proclaim the good news of the kingdom being at hand, it points out how the notes that I made from yesterday’s Mass were actually more good news, even though in today’s culture they could be seen as scary…

“Repent and believe in the Gospel, for the end is near…Alleluia!!!”

Personification:  Joy  It is only when I recognize that there is not much time left, that I will act with the proper amount of urgency toward the people who I come in contact with.  I was thinking as I was writing the notes in my journal at Mass yesterday about how much differently it would look if we displayed the fruit of joy as we talked about the end being near, instead of acting like the end of this world is bad news.  I guess that was the reason for the Alleluia that ended my notes yesterday.

Prayer:  Lord, help me display the fruit of joy today to everyone that I spend time with today and everyday until you return to the earth in glory.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

One thought on “The Kingdom of heaven is at hand…Repent and believe in the Gospel!

Leave a Reply

