A nazirite vow…

Standard

Gift:  Fortitude (Courage) – With the gift of courage, we overcome our fear and are willing to take risk as a follower of Jesus. A person with courage is willing to stand up for what is right in the sight of God, even if it means accepting rejection, verbal abuse, or even physical harm and death.

Reading:  The woman went and told her husband, “A man of God came to me; he had the appearance of an angel of God, fearsome indeed. I did not ask him where he came from, nor did he tell me his name. But he said to me, ‘You will conceive and bear a son. So drink no wine or beer, and eat nothing unclean. For the boy shall be a nazirite for God from the womb, until the day of his death.’”  (Judges 13:6-7)

Observation:  As I sat through Mass in Spanish this morning, I have to say it was quite difficult since I had not read the readings before I came to Mass and heard them read in Spanish.  I thought I was actually understanding more Spanish until this morning, when I realized that I still have a lot to learn.  Anyway, the message that I got came to me as I was reading the readings later.  I realized that the story of the first reading was about Samson and not about John the Baptist as I thought when I heard it at Mass.  Also, I saw an opportunity to deepen my faith this last week of Advent by taking this nazirite vow for myself.  If you look up the reference or footnotes on this reading, it explains that this nazirite vow can be taken for any amount of time.

Personification:  Faithfulness  I think it would be a great way to display my faithfulness to God by taking this nazirite vow for the remainder of the days that we have left until Christmas.  Since I have been growing my beard out for a while, no one will notice that part and the abstaining from strong drink and wine, shouldn’t really raise any eyebrows, except at our staff Christmas Party tomorrow night.  I am not concerned if anyone knows about my vow, but I would rather just fly under the radar about it.

Prayer:  Lord Jesus Christ, Son of God, have mercy on me a sinner.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

