Come, Holy Spirit…

Standard
The Holy Spirit depicted as a dove, surrounded...
Come, Holy Spirit…

Gift:  Wisdom– With the gift of wisdom, we see God at work in our lives and in the world. For the wise person, the wonders of nature, historical events, and the ups and downs of our lives take on deeper meaning. The matters of judgment about the truth, and being able to see the image of God.

Reading:  Now I, in turn, give him to the LORD; as long as he lives, he shall be dedicated to the LORD.” Then they worshiped there before the LORD.  (1 Samuel 1:28)

Observation:  I feel like I have to say a few words about my title for today.  There was a moment this morning where I remembered that I am not just flesh and blood, but I also have a soul or spirit.  Upon making this revelation, I said the words, “Come, Holy Spirit.”  For the reading that I chose, I realize this morning, as well, that I need to stop looking to my children to be more faithful to God and concern myself with my faithfulness.  I will always feel that my children should be willing to give their whole lives to the Lord, just like I feel like I should, but I am going to follow his will for me and let him and them take care of his will for them.

Faithfulness:  In my opinion, if the writer of the books of Samuel was telling the whole story, he would probably say that Hannah fully expected her son to mess something up in the service of God and get sent home.  However, she still offered him up for service to the Lord and it was the Lord’s choice to use him or not.  I hope that I can see that my life is not different from Samuel’s, and every morning I want to offer it up again for service to the Lord.

Prayer:  Come, Holy Spirit, fill the hearts of your faithful and enkindle in them the fire of your love. Send forth your Spirit and they shall be created. And you shall renew the face of the earth. O God, Who instructed the hearts of the faithful by the light of the Holy Spirit, grant us in the same Spirit to be truly wise, and ever to rejoice in His consolation. Through Christ our Lord. Lord, I give you all my work today and I hope that the times that I have failed in the past will not bring dishonor to your work of salvation.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

2 thoughts on “Come, Holy Spirit…

Leave a Reply

