Saint John is calling me to be a witness, like him…

Standard
English: Damian. "Jesus Christ and St. Jo...

Saint John the Apostle and Jesus Christ

Gift:  Knowledge – With the gift of knowledge, we understand the meaning of God’s Revelation, especially as expressed in the life and words of Jesus Christ. A person with knowledge is always learning more about the scriptures and Tradition.

Reading:  Beloved: What was from the beginning, what we have heard, what we have seen with our eyes, what we looked upon and touched with our hands concerns the Word of life ? for the life was made visible; we have seen it and testify to it and proclaim to you the eternal life that was with the Father and was made visible to us? what we have seen and heard we proclaim now to you, so that you too may have fellowship with us; for our fellowship is with the Father and with his Son, Jesus Christ. We are writing this so that our joy may be complete.  (1 John 1:1-4)

Observation:  The heading of this part of the beginning of the letter of John is “The Word of Life.”  As my title for my journal says, I think that Saint John the apostle and evangelist is calling us to be witnesses of the incarnation.  It seems fitting that two days after we celebrated the birth of Jesus, we are being called to witness to the facts that surround his birth, life, death and resurrection.  It is not because we were there, like Saint John was there, but we believe the stories that are passed down to us, because of the miracles that are still being performed in our lives, but mostly because the incarnation of God still exists today in all of us that are receiving him in the Sacrament of the Eucharist.

Personification:  Joy  It is true that my joy will be complete when I know that the truth that I am trying to pass on is being received by the many people who are all around me in my life that have yet to completely accept the fact that Jesus died for them, and he is calling them to be resurrected to a new life in him.  It is my hope that I will know this joy with my family and all the people who come in contact with me in my everyday life.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to be the man who believes in you completely, so that I can bring more people to understand the truth of how much you love them.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

One thought on “Saint John is calling me to be a witness, like him…

Leave a Reply

