Repent, and stop sinning or else…What?

Standard
Remove all sin...

Remove all sin…

Gift: Knowledge

Reading: And now, children, remain in him,
   so that when he appears we may have confidence
   and not be put to shame by him at his coming. (1 John 2:28)

Observation: So, the reading this morning was a reminder to me that if I continue in my sinful ways, I have a meeting with Jesus to look forward to that would be quite embarassing. I thought I would share this revelation with my journal today, because it is possible that other people have found ways to justify there sinfulness and might be helped to repent by the knowledge that the standing with Christ in confidence is much better than the shame of hiding your sin.

Personification: Peace It is my hope that the knowledge of a God who wants to see us stand with confidence next his Son in the glory of heaven will help me conquer my sinful nature. Not so much so that I can stand with confidence some day next to the one who saved me, but that I can be a light to others because of the grace that comes to me as a free gift from God.

Prayer: (Prayer attributed to Saint Francis)
Lord, make me an instrument of your peace. Where there is hatred, let me sow love. Where there is injury, pardon. Where there is doubt, faith. Where there is despair, hope. Where there is darkness, joy. O Divine Master, grant that I may not so much seek to be consoled, as to console; to be understood, as to understand; to be loved, as to love. For it is in giving that we receive. It is in pardoning that we are pardoned, and it is in dying that we are born to eternal life. I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit…Amen!

Leave a Reply

