Today, we get a glimpse of God’s coming glory…

Standard
Fear of the Lord

Image by Lawrence OP via Flickr

Gift:  Fear of the Lord (Wonder and Awe) – With the gift of wonder and awe (fear of the lord), we are aware of the glory and majesty of God. A person with wonder and awe knows that God is the perfection of all we desire: perfect knowledge, perfect goodness, perfect power, and perfect love.

Reading: * Now there were six stone water jars there for Jewish ceremonial washings,d each holding twenty to thirty gallons.  (John 2:6)

Observation:  All this week, it seems that the readings from the first letter of Saint John were speaking louder than the gospel.  I don’t know if it is because I was not able to get myself up and moving early enough to make it to Mass this morning, or some other reason, the first reading just went over my head.  I remember it was about sin and pray for other people who are caught in sin, but I couldn’t help but think about my sin and how I should remove the wooden beam from my eye, before I go praying for other people’s sinfulness.  Anyway, the gospel reading for today is helping me with the way that the evangelist is telling the story of Jesus turning the water into wine.  It is the first time that God revealed to me through this scripture that it was Jewish ceremonial washing jars that Jesus used for the wine, and that the quantity of wine was no small amount.  These two things took on new meaning for me after I read the footnotes for this verse.  (Which are hyperlinked at the beginning of the re-post of the 6th verse from John’s Gospel above.  The fact that Jesus used ceremonial washing jars means that the Messiah was going to give us a new means of cleansing, and the old ways are no longer necessary.  As for the amount or volume of wine that was miraculously produced, it is a glimpse of the coming of his glory in the wine that becomes his blood in the Eucharist, and how that it will be made available to all people’s.  This blood is the new ceremonial washing of our souls that we must do to prepare for his return and make ourselves ready to be caught up in his glory.

Personification:   Love  Even though I did not post the first reading, I feel like I am still being called to show the love that John talked about in his letter.  It is, by all means, the only real thing that I can do to really love my brother in a way that does not involve him having to look at my sinful face, while I am loving him.  I must pray for him, and thereby show him real love and hopefully bring me the grace necessary to love my brother more capably in the physical sense, without him having to see past my sin.

Prayer:  Lord, help my brother to see that his life is worth so much more than the sin that he is involved in, and show me the way to stay out of my brother’s way, so that he can come to your well of forgiveness and love.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

