How do I reject God as my king in favor of the world’s authority?

Standard
Hannah Giving Her Son Samuel to the Priest

Image via Wikipedia

Gift:  Counsel (Right Judgment) – With the gift of right judgment, we know the difference between right and wrong, and we choose to do what is right. A person with right judgment avoids sin and lives out the values taught by Jesus.

Reading:  The LORD said: Listen to whatever the people say. You are not the one they are rejecting. They are rejecting me as their king.  (1 Samuel 8:7)

Observation:  I am thinking about God’s intention to allow us to make decisions of our own free will, even when it is in direct contrast to his will for us.  Today, for me, it is not about wanting to have an earthly king, and not an eternal king, who is God in heaven, it is more about an agreement with the things of this world to get something that I want.  Truth is, any of the things of this world I need to be fulfilled in this life or the next, God has brought or will be bringing them to me,  yet I still search for the things of this world as if I need them.

Personification:  Faithfulness  In order to be sure that I am following God’s will in my life, I must be searching for eternal things and not temporal things.  It is not easy because I am by nature a sinner, however if I can keep my eyes focused on the grace that God provides for me to be saved from that sinful nature, I will be more likely to keep away from the temptations of this world.

Prayer:  Lord, I know that I don’t deserve it, but I am asking for the grace that I need to become a better disciple of your Son.  Please help me to see the things of this world as temporal and the things of heaven as everlasting.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

