As baptized Christians, we are called to be priests, prophets and kings!

Standard
Stained glass window of the sacred Heart of Je...

Stained glass window in a former mosque of the Sacred Heart of Jesus...

Gift:  Understanding – With the gift of understanding, we comprehend how we need to live as a follower of Jesus Christ. A person with understanding is not confused by all the conflicting messages in our culture about the right way to live.

Reading:  For a sin of divination is rebellion, and arrogance, the crime of idolatry.  Because you have rejected the word of the LORD, the LORD in turn has rejected you as king.”  (1 Samuel 15:23)

Observation:  After reading all the readings this morning, I was drawn back to the word “divination” in the first reading, and why was it put in Samuel’s recounting of the Lord’s rebuke of Saul as king.  After looking for the meaning of the word, I realized that it was not just the word “divination” that I was focusing on, but the loss of kingship that had come to Saul, because of his arrogance.  If I am to live up the call of my baptism, as priest, prophet and king, I must stay focused on listening to the Word of God and following through to completion any calling that the Lord directs to me.  I don’t want to be arrogant, and therefore God would think that I serve other gods, and I certainly don’t want to be so guilty of not following his will, that he would take away my kingship.

Personification:  Faithfulness  It is my hope that I can be faithful to God’s Word and every thing that He wills for me in my life.  For me,  the display of faithfulness gets easier as I become more disciplined in my devotions.  I know that I am only able to follow my devotions by the grace of God, and it is by that grace that I am saved from the flesh.

Prayer:  Lord, it is by your grace that I have been healed today of my sinfulness and I pray that your grace leads me to a deeper relationship with you today and every day for the rest of my life.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

3 thoughts on “As baptized Christians, we are called to be priests, prophets and kings!

  1. Reading your post I discovered an error in my reflection for the 2nd Sunday of Ordinary time. I wrote that the call of God is not reserved just for priests and prophets but for all of us. You reminded me that through baptism we all are priests and prophets. A very important distinction.

    • Jon,

      I loved your reflection about your call and it is very helpful to me while I am discerning my call to become a Deacon in our church. I noticed the reference you made to priests and prophets, but maybe if someone read your blog first and then mine today, the holy Spirit would be able to complete the story for them through us. God bless you!

      Jason

Leave a Reply

