Boanerges me…?

Standard
Stained glass at St John the Baptist's Anglica...

Image via Wikipedia

Gift:  Wisdom– With the gift of wisdom, we see God at work in our lives and in the world. For the wise person, the wonders of nature, historical events, and the ups and downs of our lives take on deeper meaning. The matters of judgment about the truth, and being able to see the image of God.

Reading:  James, son of Zebedee, and John the brother of James, whom he named Boanerges, that is, sons of thunder.  (Mark 3:17)

Observation:  It was only after my reflection that I shared yesterday, that I realized that I may not be ready to be the fiery preacher that I think I am.  For now, I will remember that God is calling me to be like John, and remember to call myself and others to repentance, but maybe I am not ready to call others to action yet.  It is my hope that I am living out the call of God, in the same way that Jesus called the apostles, but I just want to make sure that I am living out the call God intended and not the call that I want.

Personification:  Faithfulness  In order to be faithful to my call, I must act with the authority of Jesus, but do so with the same humility that He displayed by praying, fasting and even suffering for the faith in the ways that present themselves to me in my every day life.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to suffer gratefully and know that if I can join my suffering to yours that I will be assured of following your will for my life.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

