Better late than never…Story of my life!

Standard
English: Saint Luke the Evangelist. Russian Ea...

Image via Wikipedia

Gift:  Wisdom– With the gift of wisdom, we see God at work in our lives and in the world. For the wise person, the wonders of nature, historical events, and the ups and downs of our lives take on deeper meaning. The matters of judgment about the truth, and being able to see the image of God.

Reading:  After this the Lord appointed seventy [-two]* others whom he sent ahead of him in pairs to every town and place he intended to visit. He said to them, “The harvest is abundant but the laborers are few; so ask the master of the harvest to send out laborers for his harvest. Go on your way; behold, I am sending you like lambs among wolves.  (Luke 10: 1-3)

Observation:  On Thursday, when Father Jaspers chose to proclaim this Gospel reading over the one from Mark, I was confused because it was not listed on any of the websites that I normally go to for the daily readings.  However, it did appear in our Missal and obviously in our Lectionary.  I would usually have chosen to focus on the fact that the laborers are few and that we are like lambs among wolves, but his homily focused on  the chosen ones were sent to 36 towns, since there were 72 of them sent out in pairs.  I guess it would have been 35 towns if we read this as some of the texts have it as 70 others that the Lord appointed.  I actually like the 70 number, because it seems like a better representation of the fact that he chose the perfect number necessary to carry out the mission of delivering the Good News to the towns that he knew needed to be reached in the first phase of evangelization.  For me, I am just happy to be reminded by Jesus in this Gospel reading that there has to be more people than just the 12 Apostles to continue His mission of evangelization to the world.  Somehow, this makes what I do seem to make more sense, but I don’t think I could explain exactly why.

Personification:  Patience  I have learned over the last two days, and my whole life for that matter, that things don’t always go the way I expect them to go.  However, this time I believe that I realize that I must display the fruit of patience when this happens and know that God will eventually get me back to the work that He began in me, if it was Him who began the work in the first place.  I believe that God is transforming the work that I do with this blog and I hope that I am waiting patiently enough to get the guidance from the holy Spirit to act according to His will.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to be patient and only do the things that are aligned with your holy will for me.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

