Ask the Lord to rise up, and He will…

Standard

Gift:  Knowledge – With the gift of knowledge, we understand the meaning of God’s Revelation, especially as expressed in the life and words of Jesus Christ. A person with knowledge is always learning more about the scriptures and Tradition.

Reading:  Arise, LORD! Save me, my God!  (Psalms 3:8)

&

But he would not permit him but told him instead, “Go home *to your family and announce to them all that the Lord in his pity has done for you.”  (Mark 5:19)

Observation:  It is amazing that the Lord would rise up inside of me and save me, because I have spent so much of my life looking more like the man possessed by many demons than someone worthy of salvation.  I guess that is the point of today’s responsorial Psalm from the Mass readings and the Gospel.  The truth is, even the crazy man who is running around destroying stuff and tormenting people, God sees as worthy of saving.  For me, I am thankful that God has taken up residence in my heart and I am hopeful that I will always remember to call on the Lord  to rise up in me and never take for granted that Jesus is waiting for me to invite him into my body through the Sacrament of the Eucharist.

Personification:  Love  I know that with the love that God has shown me through the sacrifice of His Son, I should be able to love everyone that I meet today.  It is only by grace that I can display love for people who I do not know, and it is a miracle that someone like me, who was raised not to show affection, can make a free and open display of God’s love to others.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to display your love to others out of store of grace that has been freely given to me through your church.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

