Jesus, continue to raise us up to new life in you…

Standard
Heart of Jesus

Image via Wikipedia

Gift:  Fortitude (Courage) – With the gift of courage, we overcome our fear and are willing to take risk as a follower of Jesus. A person with courage is willing to stand up for what is right in the sight of God, even if it means accepting rejection, verbal abuse, or even physical harm and death.

Reading:  * He took the child by the hand and said to her, “Talitha koum,” which means, “Little girl, I say to you, arise!”  (Mark 5:41)

Observation:  It is my hope that I can see that Jesus is calling me to a new life in him.  As one of my Twitter friends, Father Mabura, posted this morning, “Fix your eyes on the Lord, and live for him and in him!”  To me, the girl in today’s Gospel reading from the Mass readings for today, is calling us all to repentance from the life that we would lead without thinking about Jesus.  Not just the miracles that he performed while he walked the earth as one of us, but the miracles that he is performing daily by keeping us from destroying ourselves in both the physical and spiritual sense.

Personification:   Joy  It is my hope that no matter what may happen today, I am willing to follow the will of God in my life.  As I saw in the movie, “Into Great Silence” yesterday, that joy may not look like the world’s view of joy, but rather it may be quiet contemplation that does not only bring joy, but it is the joy that my soul is searching for, but will only find in my relationship with God.  The movie was suggested by another friend of mine that I follow on Twitter, but got the suggestion from his blog.  You can find his blog here:  http://redemptoristpreacher.com/  He has posted a trailer from the movie as well…

Prayer:  Lord, let me remember that moments of quiet contemplation may be the joy that I am looking for, as well as the times that lead to sharing that joy with others.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

