How does “qorban” relate to me? I hope my sacrifice is acceptable…

Standard
The Holy Spirit depicted as a dove, surrounded...
Image via Wikipedia

Gift:  Counsel (Right Judgment) – With the gift of right judgment, we know the difference between right and wrong, and we choose to do what is right. A person with right judgment avoids sin and lives out the values taught by Jesus.

Reading:  For Moses said, ‘Honor your father and your mother,’ andWhoever curses father or mother shall die.’ Yet you say, If a person says to father or mother, Any support you might have had from me is qorban* (meaning, dedicated to God), you allow him to do nothing more for his father or mother. You nullify the word of God in favor of your tradition that you have handed on. And you do many such things.”  (Mark 7:11-12)

Observation:  Jesus is teaching me here that I should not look to society to decide what is the proper perspective on any issue, regardless of how long it has been accepted in this or any other country.  I should look to the Word of God to decide the proper perspective on any issue and rely on the understanding of the church, with the guidance and inspiration of the holy Spirit.  I should not try to rationalize and justify any behavior that does not align itself with the truth as it is revealed through Jesus Christ and His church.

Personification:  Self-Control  Today is another day that I feel I was left in the arms of our almighty Savior and guided by the holy Spirit, to live out the will of God in my life.  Days like this are truly a blessing and although I know it probably won’t last forever starting with whether it will even continue through tonight.  I am thankful that God has revealed to me new ways today to surrender to Him and allow peace that came to me and my family.

Prayer:  Lord, through the Sacrament of the Eucharist and the grace that flows freely from it, I am thankful for the peace that comes to those who wait on you and I hope that I am waiting on you again tonight.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

