Be kind to me, Lord, and I shall live. (From the Responsorial Psalm today)

Standard
English: Stained glass window in the nave of S...

Image via Wikipedia

Gift:  Wisdom– With the gift of wisdom, we see God at work in our lives and in the world. For the wise person, the wonders of nature, historical events, and the ups and downs of our lives take on deeper meaning. The matters of judgment about the truth, and being able to see the image of God.

Reading:   Consider it all joy, my brothers, when you encounter various trials,* for you know that the testing* of your faith produces perseverance. But if any of you lacks wisdom,* he should ask God who gives to all generously and ungrudgingly, and he will be given it.  (James 1:2-3,5)

Observation:  It is in the moment that I feel like God is granting me wisdom, that I must guard for a fall.  So, my title for today’s post, that I got from the Mass readings for today, is more a plea for Jesus to stay with me even when I know I was tested and seem to be realizing a path to avoid evil and follow him.  As it says in the footnotes for these two verses that I chose to journal on, it is only in the perseverance in faith that brings about the wisdom to see the truth.  In those times that I lack wisdom, I must remember to seek it from the Lord and not the world.  God will grant it to me, but the world will hide true wisdom from me.

Personification:  Joy  Since the verse from the reading from the letter of Saint James says that I should consider it all joy when suffering various trials in life, it would be important to try to display the fruit of joy in a real way in my life today.  It is not as if I have suffered in any way like Jesus had to suffer to offer himself as a sacrifice to save me, so whatever trials that I must persevere through, I can do so with joy clearly on display.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to display the joy that comes from the knowledge and wisdom that you give your people as a free gift.  I hope that I can bring that joy to others today, especially my family.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

