We do not want Jesus to be ashamed of us, right?

Standard
Jesus, ashamed of me?

Gift:  Fortitude (Courage) – With the gift of courage, we overcome our fear and are willing to take risk as a follower of Jesus. A person with courage is willing to stand up for what is right in the sight of God, even if it means accepting rejection, verbal abuse, or even physical harm and death.

Reading: Whoever is ashamed of me and of my words in this faithless and sinful generation, the Son of Man will be ashamed of when he comes in his Father’s glory with the holy angels.”  (Mark 8:38)

Observation:  Jesus could very well be talking to us in our world when he is talking to his disciples about the conditions of discipleship.   I was moved by the fact that I could not even imagine the depression that would come over me if I had to see Jesus look at me as if he was ashamed.  He doesn’t say that our worst sin would cause him to feel ashamed of us, but that if we are ashamed of him and his words, he would be ashamed of us when we come in his Father’s glory with the holy angels.  Personally, I don’t think I want to be around when he shows that ashamed look at someone, and I hope and pray he won’t need to look at me that way.

Personification:  Faithfulness  Thanks to Lecrae, I remember this verse by heart.  I am not ashamed of the gospel.  (Romans 1:16)  I don’t know if Paul was responding to Mark, the evangelist, when he wrote this, but it is my hope that I can display the fruit of faithfulness by stating, without a shadow of a doubt in my mind, that I am not ashamed of the gospel.

Prayer:  Lord, continue to work on me to create me to be the faithful witness to your gospel message by the words that I choose to spread your message and more importantly the actions that I take to make my life a living witness to the Good News.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

