Choose life…Don’t blame the pro-life movement for this one!

Standard
English: Abraham embraces his son Isaac after ...

Image via Wikipedia

Gift:  Understanding – With the gift of understanding, we comprehend how we need to live as a follower of Jesus Christ. A person with understanding is not confused by all the conflicting messages in our culture about the right way to live.

Reading:  I call heaven and earth today to witness against you:I have set before you life and death, the blessing and the curse. Choose life, then, that you and your descendants may live, by loving the LORD, your God, obeying his voice, and holding fast to him. For that will mean life for you, a long life for you to live on the land which the LORD swore to your ancestors, to Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob, to give to them.  (Deuteronomy 30:19-20)

Observation:  After taking the day to think about this reading and the implications to my life. as well as the lives of those people who make decisions in this country about whether we will support life or support killing, I have come to the same place that I think I was this morning.  I prayed in front of an abortion clinic that they are building in our community and left there thinking about what an ominous structure it was.  I talked to a woman named Joyce, who will join me to pray there again tomorrow, and I stared at the look on my daughter’s face that seemed to say, they are not going to listen.

Personification:  Peace  I feel like I must be at peace with the decisions that have already been made in this country that go against every thing that I believe, and know that if it is God’s will that the facility won’t be completed, than it won’t be completed.  All of my fears would have been for nothing, and I will be overjoyed because I will know what a great miracle it was to not have this gigantic facility of death, never have gone into operation.

Prayer:  Lord, please let me see that it is your work that is being done in this world, even though it may seem that evil is getting the upper hand in this world.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

