Tell my people their wickedness…Really?

Standard
The front side (recto) of Papyrus 1, a New Tes...

Image via Wikipedia

Gift:  Fortitude (Courage) – With the gift of courage, we overcome our fear and are willing to take risk as a follower of Jesus. A person with courage is willing to stand up for what is right in the sight of God, even if it means accepting rejection, verbal abuse, or even physical harm and death.

Reading:  Cry out full-throated and unsparingly, lift up your voice like a trumpet blast; Proclaim to my people their transgression, to the house of Jacob their sins.  (Isaiah 58:1)

&

Jesus answered them, “Can the wedding guests mourn as long as the bridegroom is with them? The days will come when the bridegroom is taken away from them, and then they will fast.*  (Matthew 9:15)

Observation:  My pastor has a phrase that he says often, and I have heard before, it is “Tell the truth in love.”  As I ponder this verse from the first reading that I posted above, I must remember the words of my pastor, but not be stopped from telling the truth as it has been revealed to me.  The truth is that the people of this world and of our church are suffering under the yoke of sexual sin, because there are not enough people telling the truth in love about what God has revealed to us through his Gospel and through our bodies.

Personification:   Kindness  It is out of kindness that I will refuse to hold my tongue today.  I will attempt to display the joy that comes from the knowledge of the bridegroom as a mentor and a friend, and especially as my first spouse.  Before I could ever learn to love others the way that God loves me, I must be fully committed to his love by accepting the fact that he wants to be joined to me forever.  Once I have accepted this love, I will share it with others and explain what it means to be fully joined in marriage to God.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to share your good news today and help you transform our world into a place that you have waited to return to.  Come Lord Jesus, Come.   I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

