Jesus tempted by Satan…to show us victory over evil is possible for his disciples!

Standard
The Temptation of Christ, 1854

Image via Wikipedia

Gift:  Knowledge – With the gift of knowledge, we understand the meaning of God’s Revelation, especially as expressed in the life and words of Jesus Christ. A person with knowledge is always learning more about the scriptures and Tradition.

Reading:   At once the Spirit drove him out into the desert,and he remained in the desert for forty days, tempted by Satan. He was among wild beasts, and the angels ministered to him.  (Mark 1:12-13)

Observation:  I believe it was Saint Augustine that wrote the letter that comprised the second reading from the Office of Readings that I read when I first woke up this morning.  He was talking about this Gospel reading when he said that Jesus did not only get tempted, he was victorious over the temptation of Satan.  He went on to say that we should see in the victory of Jesus over Satan’s temptation, a renewed sense of urgency to call on Jesus in our own temptations.  I may have taken a little liberty with his explanation and not gotten it correct, but in the interest of not making my journal a cut and paste effort, I thought I would put his letter into my own words.  The last thing that I noticed about the Gospel of Mark‘s account of the temptation is that, unlike Matthew’s, he does not go into much detail about the temptation, and I think that allows us to relate better to the temptation of Jesus more in the terms of our own temptation.

Personification:   Self-Control  Although I have said this many times before, I am feeling like the fruit of self-control is only going to be displayed if I let go of self and give God the control of my life.  I may not have said it exactly that way before, but I hope that I am finally getting the point of letting God be in control of my life, and not being so concerned with the decisions that I will have to make today or any day for that matter.  I know that if God is control, I will be able to overcome any temptation to selfishness and any decision that I make will be for His glory.

Prayer:  Lord Jesus Christ, Son of God, have mercy on me a sinner.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

One thought on “Jesus tempted by Satan…to show us victory over evil is possible for his disciples!

Leave a Reply

