You can’t love from a distance…

Standard
Prophet Ezekiel, Russian icon from first quart...

The prophet Ezekiel...

Gift:  Fortitude (Courage) – With the gift of courage, we overcome our fear and are willing to take risk as a follower of Jesus. A person with courage is willing to stand up for what is right in the sight of God, even if it means accepting rejection, verbal abuse, or even physical harm and death.

Reading:  Do I find pleasure in the death of the wicked—oracle of the Lord GOD? Do I not rejoice when they turn from their evil way and live?  (Ezekiel 18:23)

&

I tell you, unless your righteousness surpasses that of the scribes and Pharisees, you will not enter into the kingdom of heaven.  (Matthew 5:20)

Observation:  Without going into the boring details of my many dreams that I have had lately, I am encouraged by the fact that God is helping me break some old habits and my sub-conscious is trying to tell me to stop standing on the sidelines, and start bringing the fight to the people who need it.  I am hearing that this is not a Catholic/Protestant thing, it is a God’s love thing.  Now, that God has shown me a way through to becoming a new creation in him, I am willing to take the next step.  For today, I hear Jesus saying that I must concentrate on displaying the righteousness that surpasses the scribes and Pharisees.

Personification:  Love  If I am going to listen to that little voice in my head that is telling me to be a man, and stop letting other people dictate how I am going to feel and how God is going to use me, I think I will be well on my way to displaying the fruit of love.  This is God’s love that I am hoping to display, so it is not necessarily the touchy, feely love that we see in the movies.  Rather, it is the love that encompasses the truth about who God created us to be and how we are really supposed to be taking care of each other.

Prayer:  Lord, make me an instrument of your love. Where there is sadness, let me bring joy.  Where there is despair, let me bring hope.  Let me not so much seek to be consoled, as to console.  Let me not so much seek to be understood, as to understand.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.  (Abridged version of the Saint Francis prayer)

3 thoughts on “You can’t love from a distance…

    • Vince,

      The encouraging words are very much appreciated, as always…I pray that you are experiencing the same Spirit…I just accompanied 23 other youth and young adults to a Christian Music concert last night at the Rock and Worship Roadshow…After the some 12,000 Christians worshipped God together in the Rose Garden in Portland, OR for 4 hours, I can say with full assurance that the holy Spirit is working and God is still with us…God bless you!

Leave a Reply

