Jesus gives us a picture of hell today…Not pretty!

Standard
Hebrew Psalmist from the Brooklyn Museum

Image via Wikipedia

Gift:  Fortitude (Courage) – With the gift of courage, we overcome our fear and are willing to take risk as a follower of Jesus. A person with courage is willing to stand up for what is right in the sight of God, even if it means accepting rejection, verbal abuse, or even physical harm and death.

Reading:  More tortuous than anything is the human heart, beyond remedy; who can understand it?  (Jeremiah 17:9)

&

Blessed is the man who does not walk in the counsel of the wicked, Nor stand in the way* of sinners, nor sit in company with scoffers.Rather, the law of the LORD* is his joy; and on his law he meditates day and night. (Psalm 1:1-2)

&

Abraham replied, ‘My child, remember that you received what was good during your lifetime while Lazarus likewise received what was bad; but now he is comforted here, whereas you are tormented.”  (Luke 16:25)

Observation:  I wrote the title of my journal early this morning, but after hearing the Gospel read and Father Jaspers homily, I did not think I needed to change it.  His homily was basically that the Gospel reading speaks for itself, and I would recommend that you read the reading, but this verse from the Gospel was what was speaking to me.   After Jeremiah’s recognition of the tortuousness of our human hearts, and the admonition of the Psalmist to stay away from people who mock your faith and not to sin, and meditate on the law of the Lord all day and night, I realize that the complete surrender to the will of God is necessary to ensure that we will spend eternity in heaven.  It is not just some words that we should or could say, but living our life as if it completely depended on God, because it does.  (At least the eternal life does!)

Personification:  Self-Control  I am choosing to focus on my old friend, the fruit of Self-Control.  I will rely on the grace of God to keep me from surrendering any part of my will to anything other than the will of God, and God will protect me from sin.  I know, by the example of many Saints that lived holy lives before us, that we can look to them for an example of what a holy life will gain you in this world, and rejoice in what it will gain us for eternity.

Prayer:  Father, help me to stay humble and no matter how my financial situation changes, allow me to see, that whatever wealth we have, it is only to be used to bring you glory.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

 

Leave a Reply

