Does this apply to you?

Standard

Gift:  Fear of the Lord (Wonder and Awe) – With the gift of wonder and awe (fear of the lord), we are aware of the glory and majesty of God. A person with wonder and awe knows that God is the perfection of all we desire: perfect knowledge, perfect goodness, perfect power, and perfect love.

Reading:  Say to them: This is the nation which does not listen to the voice of the LORD, its God, or take correction. Faithfulness has disappeared; the word itself is banished from their speech.  (Jer 7:28)

&

“Whoever is not with me is against me, and whoever does not gather with me scatters.”  (Luke 11:23)

Observation:  As I pondered the readings this morning, I was moved by the first reading where Jeremiah was hearing from the Lord that the people of Jerusalem were no longer listening to Him and would not accept correction.  How much are we like this too?  Finally, the Gospel was saying to me that those people who stand in opposition to the Word of God  and are not bringing more people to the church, are actually working against Jesus to scatter people away from the church.

Personification:  Gentleness  My wife likes to remind me that the display of the fruit of gentleness is a necessary trait to show to bring more people to God.  I will accept correction here, and remember to display gentleness to those that are trying to follow Jesus, and act out of anger only towards those that are working against Him.

Prayer:  Lord, allow me to more perfectly follow your will.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

