Jesus, was God, and yet…

Standard

Gift:  Counsel (Right Judgment) – With the gift of right judgment, we know the difference between right and wrong, and we choose to do what is right. A person with right judgment avoids sin and lives out the values taught by Jesus.

Reading:  He went down with them and came to Nazareth, and was obedient to them; and his mother kept all these things in her heart.  (Luke 2:51)

Observation:  Even though today is the Solemnity of Saint Joseph, the husband of the Blessed Virgin Mary, I found this verse to be the most impactful on me from all the readings.  It is the simple fact that Jesus was doing the work of His Father in Heaven when they found him in the temple that could have justified Jesus in staying there, but the verse says that He went back to Nazareth and was obedient to them.  I think it is a good reminder that we too should be obedient to our earthly parents and authorities in the same way, as long as they are not asking us to violate our conscience.

Personification:  Patience  I must remember that patience is not something that I can make happen by my will, it must be something that is given to me as a free gift of God.  I hope that this fruit of patience is something that I can store up, as God continues to grace me with it.

Prayer:  Lord, help me surrender my will to you, so that you are able to do the work necessary to save me.  Please guide me to share my faith with those people who you bring into my life.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

