The result of sin is death…

Standard
Jews praying in the Synagogue on Yom Kippur. (...

Jews praying in the Synagogue on Yom Kippur. (1878 painting by Maurycy Gottlieb) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Gift:  Counsel (Right Judgment) – With the gift of right judgment, we know the difference between right and wrong, and we choose to do what is right. A person with right judgment avoids sin and lives out the values taught by Jesus.

Reading:  “Amen, amen, I say to you, whoever keeps my word will never see death.”  (John 8:51)

Observation:  After reading the Gospel reading for today’s Mass, where Jesus ends up revealing to us, and the Jews that he was speaking to, that “He is God”.  I went back to the beginning of what he said and realized that the truth of His saving power was revealed at their.  If they had only accepted that truth, they could have found the way out of sin into the life that Jesus was trying to reveal to them.  How much are we still like this today?  If we would only accept the truth of what is revealed through His Word, we could have the power to overcome sin in our life, through the grace that comes from following His instructions.

Personification:  Self-Control  It is my hope that I can display the fruit of self-control in my life, not just as it pertains to my tendency towards sin, but also in the way that I deliver the Good News to those that I am blessed by God to get the opportunity to share it with today and everyday for the rest of my life.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to see that your Word is enough for me and that the addition of my words is not necessary to deliver your Gospel truth.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

 

Leave a Reply

