Is there anyone trying to stone you?

Standard
Jesus with a royal purple robe mocked and beat...

Jesus with a royal purple robe mocked and beaten as the King of the Jews, John 19:2-3. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Gift:  Fortitude (Courage) – With the gift of courage, we overcome our fear and are willing to take risk as a follower of Jesus. A person with courage is willing to stand up for what is right in the sight of God, even if it means accepting rejection, verbal abuse, or even physical harm and death.

Reading:  Yes, I hear the whisperings of many: “Terror on every side! Denounce! let us denounce him!” All those who were my friends are on the watch for any misstep of mine. “Perhaps he can be tricked; then we will prevail, and take our revenge on him.”  (Jeremiah 20:10)

&

The Jews picked up rocks to stone Jesus.   (John 10:31)

Observation:  As I read these readings early this morning in preparation for Mass, I felt the urge to consider that this reading was about me.  I guess I often relate to the prophet Jeremiah, but I must be careful in relating the words of prophecy directly to my own situation currently, because God is speaking to all of us believers, and not just me.  However, yesterday, we were asked at Mass the reason for the Jews wanting to stone Jesus.  The answer I blurted out was, “Because he was blaspheming God, in their eyes,  in saying that He was God.”  Although, the reason I said it that way was not clear at the time, especially if you look at yesterday’s Gospel reading for Mass.  However, today’s Gospel reading explains clearly where I got my answer, although I had not read that reading specifically yesterday.

Personification:  Patience  I am feeling like the fruit of patience is what I should display today.  Patience with myself and others, I must remember that conversion is a life-long process.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to be patient with my family and with myself, while you convert us to follow your will more closely.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

2 thoughts on “Is there anyone trying to stone you?

  1. Jason – You have a great gift at combining the theological with the practical. The reason for this is that you put some of yourself in every post. You share your life. Thank you and bless you, Vince

    • Thanks again Vince,

      Sorry about the spelling and grammatical errors from yesterday’s post. I was a little distracted yesterday during my journaling. God bless you! Jason

Leave a Reply

