Ain’t no party like a Catholic Party!

Standard

Gift:  Wisdom– With the gift of wisdom, we see God at work in our lives and in the world. For the wise person, the wonders of nature, historical events, and the ups and downs of our lives take on deeper meaning. The matters of judgment about the truth, and being able to see the image of God.

Reading:  Now many of the Jews who had come to Mary and seen what he had done began to believe in him.  (John 11:45)

Observation:  In the beginning of the Gospel reading today, I was left with the impression that the Jews were being led to Jesus through Mary.  Maybe that is the point of this Gospel reading today starting with this verse, and not the previous verses that discuss what Jesus had just done.  He had just raised Lazarus from the dead, but it was the point of this Gospel reading to me today that the Jews that believed in Jesus, were there because of Mary.  This was not that “Mary”, but for me and what God is revealing to me today, is that Mary’s faith will lead me to Jesus.

Personification:  Gentleness  It is my hope that by focusing on Mary today, I will be able to display the fruit of gentleness.  It is not only because of the gentleness of a Mother that she embodied while on earth, but also the gentleness that comes to us from her intercession for us from heaven.

Prayer:  Lord, let me remember the faithfulness of the Mary of this Gospel reading when she dried Jesus’ feet with her hair, and let me be willing to do whatever I am asked to do to dry your feet as well as offer you the perfumed oil that you deserve.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

