Countdown to resurrection…

Standard
Icon showing the Resurrection of Jesus, at the...

Icon showing the Resurrection of Jesus, at the inner side of the Resurrection Gate to the Red Square, Moscow (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Gift:  Piety (Reverence) – With the gift of reverence, sometimes called piety, we have a deep sense of respect for God and the Church. A person with reverence recognizes our total reliance on God and comes before God with humility, trust, and love.

Reading:  When the sabbath was over, Mary Magdalene, Mary, the mother of James, and Salome bought spices so that they might go and anoint him.Very early when the sun had risen, on the first day of the week, they came to the tomb.  (Mark 6:1-2)

Observation:  As our family awaits the celebration of the Resurrection of Jesus tonight and tomorrow, we also are looking forward to the birthday celebration of our one year old daughter tomorrow.  As if the Resurrection of Jesus was not enough, God has graced our family with the extra grace of being able to celebrate the miracle of the birth of our daughter, who has graced our family with her smiles, laughs, cries and love for the past amazing year.  I chose to journal on the Gospel reading that talks about the women who went to the tomb to anoint the body of our Savior, because it is this focus that I hope my daughter will have later in life.  Not necessarily the anoint of Jesus, but the focus of his life, death and resurrection, for sure.

Personification:  Patience  It is my hope that the patience that I can display comes as a direct result of the discipline that I showed during this past Lenten season.  I understand that my ability to display patience is only possible because of the grace of God that is given freely to me, as a result of my attempt to be obedient to his Word.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to be patient with my family and with myself.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

4 thoughts on “Countdown to resurrection…

    • Thanks Vince…The birthday wishes and blessings are much appreciated…God’s blessings on you and your family…May this Easter season continue to shine the light of the Resurrection on you!

Leave a Reply

