Expect the unexpected…Does this sound like you?

Standard
The Holy Spirit depicted as a dove, surrounded...

The Holy Spirit depicted as a dove, surrounded by angels, by Giaquinto, 1750s. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Gift:  Understanding – With the gift of understanding, we comprehend how we need to live as a follower of Jesus Christ. A person with understanding is not confused by all the conflicting messages in our culture about the right way to live.

Reading:  Jesus answered, “Amen, amen, I say to you, no one can enter the kingdom of God without being born of water and Spirit.What is born of flesh is flesh and what is born of spirit is spirit.Do not be amazed that I told you, ‘You must be born from above.’ The wind* blows where it wills, and you can hear the sound it makes, but you do not know where it comes from or where it goes; so it is with everyone who is born of the Spirit.”  (John 3:5-8)

Observation:  I guess as I think about what being born of the Spirit looks like in my life, it is important for me to remember that Jesus is not saying that I am excused from following through with the inclinations that I have received before.  Rather, it is an understanding of the fact that I am not required to follow through with what the world would expect from me.  If I left my job tomorrow, because I felt called by the Spirit to follow through with what God has called me to for some time, it should not bother me that I would not be living up to the expectations that others have of me.

Personification:  Faithfulness  For all I know, people’s expectations of me may be that I not stay working at my job, so the mere act of staying with my current job would be unexpected.  I will focus on being attentive to what the holy Spirit is calling me to, and acting in whatever way that is in keeping with God’s will for me that I am receiving from the Spirit.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to stay focused on being attentive to your Word and every inclination that I get to follow what the Holy Spirit is leading me to do.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

2 thoughts on “Expect the unexpected…Does this sound like you?

Leave a Reply

