If I am released from prison, where is my place in the temple?

Standard
Jesus Christ - detail from Deesis mosaic, Hagi...

Jesus Christ - detail from Deesis mosaic, Hagia Sophia, Istanbul (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Gift:  Knowledge – With the gift of knowledge, we understand the meaning of God’s Revelation, especially as expressed in the life and words of Jesus Christ. A person with knowledge is always learning more about the scriptures and Tradition.

Reading:  But during the night, the angel of the Lord opened the doors of the prison, led them out, and said,“Go and take your place in the temple area, and tell the people everything about this life.”  (Acts 5:19-20)

Observation:  Since we believe that angels are sent to free us from the prison of our sinful behavior, shouldn’t we hear this scripture passage about taking our position in the temple?  Specifically, if I have been liberated from my sin, shouldn’t I be taking my position in the church that I am called to take to follow the direction that is given to me from these verses.

Personification:  Joy  It is with great joy that I have announced in the past that I feel called to be a deacon, and I think that is the proper response to that call.  However, I hope that the joy that I have expressed before, is accompanied by a resolve to take the steps necessary to make this happen.  Of course, it is also necessary for me to remember that it will only happen, if it is God’s will and not just what I perceive God’s will to be.

Prayer:  Lord, it is my hope that you will supply me with the grace necessary to follow through with the call that brings me great joy in my heart and rest in the knowledge that you will show me the way to follow your will in this and every decision I make in my life.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

6 thoughts on “If I am released from prison, where is my place in the temple?

    • Yeah, I hope that I stop spending my time in the “hmmmmm” stage and I start moving to the “What’s next?” stage…Thanks for commenting brother…God bless you!!!

      • Beautiful…I don’t think we should ignore the coincidence…I would consider it an honor to start the journey along side a man like you…Even if we are separated by such a long distance! (Keep me posted, and I will do the same for you!)

  1. Very deep. I agree that this is definitely the way to reflect upon the mysteries. It’s not just Prayer. That is just one aspect. It’s not always an easy thing to remember that Worshipping our Lord requires our entire life. Not just a bit of our time.

    • Our entire life…So true and so beautiful…What if we are focused on doing his will and being in a state of grace at all times…God bless you!

Leave a Reply

