Today, we focus on the other sheep…

Standard

Gift: Piety (Reverence) – With the gift of reverence, sometimes called piety, we have a deep sense of respect for God and the Church. A person with reverence recognizes our total reliance on God and comes before God with humility, trust, and love.
Reading: I have other sheep* that do not belong to this fold. These also I must lead, and they will hear my voice, and there will be one flock, one shepherd.
Observation: It is my hope that I can hear in the Gospel reading today that Jesus wants to call all the people of the world to His truth that is revealed through the church. There could be a couple of different meanings to the phrase “other sheep”, but I think we should hear, “all people of faith”…If you believe in God, Jesus is saying that you belong in the one flock that is guided by the one shepherd.
Personification: Peace It is my hope that the word, “Shalom”, which means peace, that Jesus said to his Apostles, when he was resurrected from the dead will flow through me to everyone that does not know the fullness of truth that is revealed through the church.
Prayer: Lord, help me to fully realize the words attributed to Saint Francis of Assisi in my life today…”Preach the Gospel to every creature, if necessary, use words”…I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit…Amen!

Leave a Reply

