We, too, are called to be shepherds…If we enter through the gate!

Standard
A sheep standing outside a dry stone sheepfold

A sheep standing outside a dry stone sheepfold (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Gift:  Knowledge – With the gift of knowledge, we understand the meaning of God’s Revelation, especially as expressed in the life and words of Jesus Christ. A person with knowledge is always learning more about the scriptures and Tradition.

Reading: * “Amen, amen, I say to you, whoever does not enter a sheepfold* through the gate but climbs over elsewhere is a thief and a robber. But whoever enters through the gate is the shepherd of the sheep. * So Jesus said again, “Amen, amen, I say to you, I am the gate for the sheep. * All who came [before me] are thieves and robbers, but the sheep did not listen to them. I am the gate. Whoever enters through me will be saved, and will come in and go out and find pasture. (John 10:1-2,7-9)

Observation:  A good friend of mine told me that he was hearing yesterday that he was supposed to see himself as the shepherd in the Gospel yesterday and he thought he was being a little presumptuous once we heard the homily about how we have a tendency to follow bad shepherds.  However, today we hear in the Gospel reading that precedes yesterday’s Gospel reading that we are called to be shepherds, but only if we enter through the gate, which is Jesus.  The Gospel today tells us that John, who doesn’t use parables, like the synoptic Gospels do, is using a figure of speech to make a point.  People in Israel during that time would have understood the reference to the Gate and knew immediately what that meant.  It is my hope that I see the sacrifice that Jesus made as his example of how to be a good Shepherd to his people.

Personification:. Joy  I think there should be a certain amount of joy that accompanies the following of will of God in your life, and I hope I can make my life into a display of that joy.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to focus on Jesus and the things that he has done and will do in my life and the lives of those around me, so I can follow his example and those other shepherds that are entering through him to lead me.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

3 thoughts on “We, too, are called to be shepherds…If we enter through the gate!

Leave a Reply

