Are we a presenting the solution, or recapitulating the problem?

Standard
Tridentine High Mass: Gospel reading

Tridentine High Mass: Gospel reading (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Gift: Fortitude (Courage) – With the gift of courage, we overcome our fear and are willing to take risk as a follower of Jesus. A person with courage is willing to stand up for what is right in the sight of God, even if it means accepting rejection, verbal abuse, or even physical harm and death.

Reading:  The word of God continued to spread and grow.  (Acts 12:24)

Observation:  Rather than repost the full Gospel reading along with this verse that was taken directly from the first reading for Mass and not from the scripture, I decided to just recommend that if you haven’t heard it proclaimed at Mass, or maybe even if you did hear it, you should read the Gospel for today to get some context for my title and focus of my journal entry.  The verse says, “But the word of God continued to spread and grow.”  However, I felt that I should focus on what should be done now, and not what was done in the past, and that is why I only posted what I read in the first reading and recommended the Gospel reading.  I should see a call to renewed trust in the Lord and all that He is doing in my life.

Personification:  Love  I hope that I can display the fruit of love by spreading the word of God today and everyday for the rest of my life.  The only way that we can truly love our neighbor is by preparing them for eternity, not ignoring their plight and eventual judgement.  I don’t know exactly what this sharing looks like yet, but I hope I am doing it and I will be looking for new ways to do it as well.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to recognize the ways I can proclaim the good news to my neighbors today.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit…Amen!

Leave a Reply

