Does this apply to you?

Standard

Gift:Piety (Reverence) – With the gift of reverence, sometimes called piety, we have a deep sense of respect for God and the Church. A person with reverence recognizes our total reliance on God and comes before God with humility, trust, and love.

Reading:. Therefore, it is necessary that one of the men who accompanied us the whole time the Lord Jesus came and went among us, beginning from the baptism of John until the day on which he was taken up from us, become with us a witness to his resurrection.”   (Acts 1:21-22)

Observation:  As I read this reading this morning, I realized that the fact that a replacement was made for Judas, means that there will be a need for constant replacement of witnesses until the return of Jesus.  The question that then came to my mind is whether I can see if the lot had fallen on me to continue the work of spreading the Gospel that originally fell on the twelve apostles.

Personification:  Faithfulness  I am hoping that I can be faithful to follow the will of God in my life, not just the things that I do but in the things that I don’t do.  I hope that God supplies me with the grace necessary to not worry about the things that are out of my control.

Prayer:  God grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, the courage to change the things I can, and the wisdom to know the difference.  Living one day at a time, enjoying one moment at a time, accepting hardship as a pathway to peace, taking, as Jesus did, this sinful world as it is, not as I would have it to be, trusting that you will make all things right, if I surrender to your will, so that I may be reasonably happy in this life, and supremely happy with you forever in the next.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

