It is my job to bring them out…

Standard
Apostle Silas

Apostle Silas (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Gift:  Understanding – With the gift of understanding, we comprehend how we need to live as a follower of Jesus Christ. A person with understanding is not confused by all the conflicting messages in our culture about the right way to live.

Reading:  He asked for a light and rushed in and, trembling with fear, he fell down before Paul and Silas. Then he brought them out and said, “Sirs, what must I do to be saved?” And they said, “Believe in the Lord Jesus and you and your household will be saved.”  (Acts 16:29-31)

Observation:  I read this first reading from the Acts of the Apostles, like it was the first time I read the story of Paul and Silas’s escape from prison.  I say that not because I tried to read it that way, but because I heard that they were not led out of prison by an angel, like Peter was, and it was the jailer that actually led them out of their cell.  It does not say whether they could move after their cell doors were opened, but it does say that they had not moved when the jailer found them.  It was the fact that their feet were secured to a stake that first focused me in on the fact that the jailer would have had to release them even after the earthquake had opened the doors and the chains that held them were shaken loose.

Personification:  Self-Control  I am seeing today that in whatever ways that I have jailed the Gospel message in the past, I must be willing to go into those dark places and release the message that resides there.  I cannot pay attention to the message of this world, because Jesus’ death conquered the ruler of this world.  I will journal on that tomorrow.  If you are reading this and wondering what you could do to release the imprisoned disciples of Jesus in your life, repost this blog or share it on Facebook or Twitter or Google+ and see what happens.  (See links at bottom of post)  I don’t say this to get more people to share my blog, but rather to give everyone who is reading this, a chance to share in the work of releasing the truth of the Gospel message.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to be a modern-day disciple of Jesus Christ and remember that the issues of this world are not mine, but compassion for all people of this world to receive the Word of God into their hearts is my concern.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

2 thoughts on “It is my job to bring them out…

Leave a Reply

