Justification for mediation…

Standard
Mary (Mother of Jesus)

Mary (Mother of Jesus) (Photo credit: da_n)

Gift:  Knowledge – With the gift of knowledge, we understand the meaning of God’s Revelation, especially as expressed in the life and words of Jesus Christ. A person with knowledge is always learning more about the scriptures and Tradition.

Reading:. “I have told you this in figures of speech. The hour is coming when I will no longer speak to you in figures but I will tell you clearly about the Father. On that day you will ask in my name, and I do not tell you that I will ask the Father for you. For the Father himself loves you, because you have loved me and have come to believe that I came from God.  (John 16:25-28)

Observation:  I read this Gospel reading this morning as a reminder of why we would invoke the name of Jesus when we pray.  We believe that Jesus is God, and He and the Father and the holy Spirit are one, so why not just pray to God.  Jesus is saying here that since the disciples have developed a relationship with Jesus by their love for Him, it gives them a special channel into bring their needs to the Father.  Sometimes, it is easier for us to see someone who walked the earth as one who understands us, rather than an almighty Father in heaven.

Personification:  Love  I hope that I can display love to my brothers and sisters on earth, but also show the love I carry for the Virgin Mary and Jesus, and all the Saints who we know are with God, by calling on their intercession for us, and knowing that they will do it if it is in God’s will for us.

Prayer:  Lord Jesus Christ, as we approach Pentecost Sunday next week, let us be ever mindful of the Saints that came before us and rely on their intercession and yours in our times of need.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen!

Leave a Reply

