I remember when I stopped questioning and knew that the church was from God!

Standard
The Holy Spirit depicted as a dove, surrounded...

The Holy Spirit depicted as a dove, surrounded by angels, by Giaquinto, 1750s. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Gift: Knowledge – With the gift of knowledge, we understand the meaning of God’s Revelation, especially as expressed in the life and words of Jesus Christ. A person with knowledge is always learning more about the scriptures and Tradition.

Reading: And when Paul laid [his] hands on them, the holy Spirit came upon them, and they spoke in tongues and prophesied.  (Acts 19:6)

&

Now we realize that you know everything and that you do not need to have anyone question you. Because of this we believe that you came from God.”*  (John 16:30)

Observation:  In the first reading for today’s Mass readings, we hear how the newly introduced to the holy Spirit are able to prophecy and speak in tongues.  How much more should we who have known the holy Spirit for some time be able to do the same thing, or even more miraculous things.  All too often, we think that someone else will have the gift to do it, but not us…Why not us?  In the Gospel reading, I am reminded that I came to the same conclusion that the Apostles came to about Jesus, about the church over 20 years ago.

Personification:  Self-control  For too long, I have allowed my sinful nature and bad decisions get in the way of the future that God had planned for me.  With the help of God’s grace, I hope to start a new chapter in my faith life today, by being unashamed of the Gospel at all times, and willing to speak in whatever way God wills and be a prophet, if whatever ways God wills me to be one.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to be faithful to you and follow whatever the holy Spirit is leading me to today.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

