Am I still jealous of the rich man? Yes, but not why you may think!

Standard
The Promulgation of the Law at Mount Sinai, by...

The Promulgation of the Law at Mount Sinai, by the illustrators of the Figures de la Bible, 1728 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Gift:  Counsel (Right Judgment) – With the gift of right judgment, we know the difference between right and wrong, and we choose to do what is right. A person with right judgment avoids sin and lives out the values taught by Jesus.

Reading:  As he was setting out on a journey, a man ran up, knelt down before him, and asked him, “Good teacher, what must I do to inherit eternal life?” Jesus answered him, “Why do you call me good?* No one is good but God alone. You know the commandments: ‘You shall not kill; you shall not commit adultery; you shall not steal; you shall not bear false witness; you shall not defraud; honor your father and your mother.’” He replied and said to him, “Teacher, all of these I have observed from my youth.”  (Mark 10:17-20)

Observation:  In reading the Gospel this morning, I initially focused on the fact that Jesus said that only God should be called good.  This is great because He is God, but was showing us that to be equal to God is not something to be boasted about, which Jesus most certainly could have done.  Anyway, I was reminded in the next two verses that I am still jealous of the fact that the rich man says that he has observed all the commandments from his youth.  Since I was not raised in the church and my childhood home was not a Christian home, I am still jealous of those people who can say that they have followed the commandments from their youth.  It is not to say that I would have followed them, had I been raised in a home that was focused on Christian values, but I guess I am jealous of those that were given that chance.

Personification:  Self-Control  Regardless of whether I was raised in home that was conducive to following the commandments of God, I am still hopeful that after over 20 years of focusing on the will of God in my life, I can begin to show the fruit of self-control in my life.  It is also my hope that I can pass on these fruits to my own children and give them the opportunity to live out the commandments of God in a way that I never could have at their age.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to display the fruits of the Holy Spirit in my life, so more people who see my life will follow the will of God in their own life.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen

5 thoughts on “Am I still jealous of the rich man? Yes, but not why you may think!

  1. Why did God give the law? What can the law do for a person? Can the law save a person? Can a person gain eternal life by trying to keep the law? Suppose a person keeps all of the commandments except for one. Would this person be considered a keeper of the law or a breaker of the law? What is the penalty for breaking the law? In what ways can the law be compared to a mirror? Is the law something bad or is the law something good? Did anyone ever keep the law and obey the commandments perfectly?

    • IMO…The law is like a mirror to the righteous, it is a trial for the unrighteous and it is the enemy of evil…Thanks for stopping by…God bless you!

Leave a Reply

