What are your people expecting of you?

Standard
Saint Peter and Saint Paul

Saint Peter and Saint Paul (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Gift:  Wisdom– With the gift of wisdom, we see God at work in our lives and in the world. For the wise person, the wonders of nature, historical events, and the ups and downs of our lives take on deeper meaning. The matters of judgment about the truth, and being able to see the image of God.

Reading:. Then Peter recovered his senses and said, “Now I know for certain that [the] Lord sent his angel and rescued me from the hand of Herod and from all that the Jewish people had been expecting.”  (Acts 12:11)

&

But the Lord stood by me and gave me strength, so that through me the proclamation might be completed and all the Gentiles might hear it. And I was rescued from the lion’s mouth.  The Lord will rescue me from every evil threat and will bring me safe to his heavenly kingdom. To him be glory forever and ever. Amen.  (2 Timothy 4:17-18)

Observation:  So, on the day when we remember that Saint Peter and Saint Paul died for their faith, I am hearing in the first and second reading, a reminder that what God has planned for my life should not be what my people are expecting.  He will certainly send down his angels to protect me and rescue me from evil, but the goal is not the rescue, it is to finish the race well.

Personification:  Faithfulness  In order to finish the race well,  I am hopeful that I can display the fruit of faithfulness to my God and His church.  I should remember the rest of the readings as well.  For in the gospel, Peter is given the keys to the kingdom, the authority to loose and bind the things of this world.  My hope is that I can get back to confession today and remember to go back to this fountain of God’s grace more often, regardless of whether I would consider my conduct good or bad.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to be faithful to you and your church in my life.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

7 thoughts on “What are your people expecting of you?

  1. They are: wisdom, understanding, wonder and awe, right judgement, knowledge, courage, and reverence. While many Roman Catholics and some other Christians accept these as a definitive list of specific attributes, others understand them merely as examples of the Holy Spirit’s work through the faithful, or consider that there is no such thing as seven gifts of the Spirit in the Bible.

    • As a Roman Catholic, I believe these gifts are revealed through scripture, but that does not mean they are not visible in someone who is ignorant of God’s Word…IMO! Thanks for commenting!

  2. 12 For our proud confidence is this, the testimony of our conscience, that in holiness and godly sincerity, not in fleshly wisdom but in the grace of God, we have conducted ourselves in the world, and especially toward you ( 2 Corinthians 1:12 ).

  3. The second predisposition needed to acquire wisdom is to combat the false wisdom of the world. That is to say, the world has its own set of goals and standards. If anyone tries to live according to these standards, he will necessarily be unfaithful to the wisdom of God. Mediation on eternal truths is the way to form the mind according to God’s standards. One must make every effort to judge all things according to the value they have in the eyes of God. Poverty of spirit, as spoken of in an earlier conference, is a key disposition for the reception of the gift of wisdom.

Leave a Reply

