Who has the authority to rid our lives of maleficence…For good?

Standard
SEVEN SACRAMENTS - Penance

SEVEN SACRAMENTS – Penance (Photo credit: Fergal of Claddagh)

Gift:   The Gift of the Spirit of Knowledge that I may know God and know myself and grow perfect in the science of the Saints.  (Taken from prayer for the seven gifts of the Holy Spirit)

Reading:  The centurion said in reply, “Lord, I am not worthy that you should enter under my roof, but only say the word and my servant will be healed.”  (Matthew 8:8)

&

When it was evening, they brought him many who were possessed by demons, And he drove out the spirits by a word, and cured the sick.  (Matthew 8:16)

Observation:  As I read the Gospel this morning, I heard the call to keep reading the Word of God and seeking the salvation from my sinfulness from the truth that is contained in the word, as it says in the two verses that I selected above.  However, when I watched the video reflection for today on the USCCB website, I realized that since today is the Feast the Martyrs of Rome, and the first reading is from the Book of Lamentations, it may just be one specific word that I am looking for to save me from my sinfulness.   The word is “repent”.  To me, it means to be contrite about my past sins, and seek out the Sacrament of Reconciliation on a regular basis, and know that it is by God’s grace that I can be healed of my maleficence.

Personification:  Patience  This may sound weird, but most of what I write probably does, but I need to learn to have patience with God and the work that he is doing in me.  In order to display the fruit of patience, I cannot let myself get down about where I have been or the decisions I have made in the past, I must focus on His grace that flows freely from the Sacraments, especially the Sacrament of Reconciliation.

Prayer:  Lord, if you remember my sins no more, help me know that you are aware of all of my sinful tendencies, and lean on your grace to save me from them.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit…Amen.

6 thoughts on “Who has the authority to rid our lives of maleficence…For good?

  1. 1496 The spiritual effects of the sacrament of Penance are: – reconciliation with God by which the penitent recovers grace; – reconciliation with the Church; – remission of the eternal punishment incurred by mortal sins; – remission, at least in part, of temporal punishments resulting from sin; – peace and serenity of conscience, and spiritual consolation; – an increase of spiritual strength for the Christian battle.

  2. As your bishop I beg the Holy Spirit, the consoler and our advocate, to give us true contrition for having offended the God who loves us so much. I pray that more and more Catholic people will frequently approach the sacrament of reconciliation, of penance, of conversion, of forgiveness and peace with God. I praise the Lord Jesus Christ for shedding his precious Blood for the forgiveness of sins. I thank him for giving his Church the mission of continuing his work: to bring back the lost sheep, to welcome home the prodigal son or daughter, to restore us to loving union with our heavenly Father. Blessed Mary, Mother of God, pray that we may obtain this grace.

  3. I believe everything said was actually very reasonable. But, think on this, suppose you added a little content? I ain’t suggesting your content isn’t good, but suppose you added something that makes people want more? I mean Who has the authority to rid our lives of maleficence…For good? Actions, not just words… is a little boring. You ought to peek at Yahoo’s home page and note how they create news headlines to grab viewers to click. You might add a related video or a related pic or two to grab people interested about everything’ve got to say. Just my opinion, it might bring your blog a little bit more interesting.

  4. e) It is good to participate in communal celebrations of penance. The rite of penance as revised after Vatican II includes a normal form of communal celebration of the sacrament of penance culminating in individual confession and absolution of sins. A liturgy of the word and appropriate prayers and hymns in which everyone joins are part of it. It thus provides a richer liturgical setting for the sacrament and manifests its ecclesial nature more clearly. The revised rite also includes penitential services which are similar but do not incorporate confession and absolution. While those who participate in such penitential services do not receive the sacrament of penance, the nonsacramental service can prepare for the sacrament and also can help sinners dispose themselves to receive the grace of contrition when no priest is available to give sacramental absolution.

  5. Act of Contrition (click here for Spanish Version) O my God, I am heartily sorry for having offended thee, and I detest all my sins because of thy just punishment, but most of all because they offend Thee, my God, who art all-good and deserving of all my love. I firmly resolve, with the help of thy grace, to sin no more and to avoid the near occasion of sin. In the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Spirit. Amen.

Leave a Reply

