We can do great things, like Peter, if we ask the Lord to call us…

Standard

Joyful?

Gift:  Counsel (Right Judgment) – With the gift of right judgment, we know the difference between right and wrong, and we choose to do what is right. A person with right judgment avoids sin and lives out the values taught by Jesus.

Reading:  Peter said to him in reply, “Lord, if it is you, command me to come to you on the water.”  (Matthew 14:28)

Observation:  As I sit here in my office, a little late for posting my journal on the daily readings, but I have had a day to think about what God was saying to me this morning when I read the readings.  I think it is the fact that I believe Jesus is present in our lives and is doing great things all around us, we need to make sure that we are asking him to call us to join Him in the great things that he is doing.  Yes, like Peter, we will have doubts, but if He calls us to join Him, he will always catch us before we completely sink into despair.

Personification:  Joy  It is mostly because when I recorded my video of my morning prayer today, my wife told me that it did not look like I was joyful while I was praying.  It is my hope that the grace that flows through me to others will be obvious by the fruit of joy that is clearly on display by the zeal in which I am trying to follow Jesus.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to recognize the ways that you are blessing my life and show me the ways that I should be expressing the joy that comes from following Jesus.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

One thought on “We can do great things, like Peter, if we ask the Lord to call us…

  1. What a hope! In the end, when the negative dust settles, there should remain a glorious fascination with our future with Christ in Heaven. When I ponder the great idea of being with my Lord Jesus, it brings thrill to my heart. It should not take something silly like this to bring us back to our hope and joy of eternal life, but in the wake of this sad ordeal let’s make something good of it and rejoice afresh in the work of Calvary that releases us from eternal judgment and ensures life forevermore!

Leave a Reply

