Saint Lawrence, deacon and martyr…Pray for us!

Standard

Gift:  Fortitude (Courage) – With the gift of courage, we overcome our fear and are willing to take risk as a follower of Jesus. A person with courage is willing to stand up for what is right in the sight of God, even if it means accepting rejection, verbal abuse, or even physical harm and death.

Reading:   Moreover, God is able to make every grace abundant for you, so that in all things, always having all you need, you may have an abundance for every good work.  (2 Corinthians 9:8)

&

Hallelujah! Blessed the man who fears the LORD, who greatly delights in his commands. His descendants shall be mighty in the land, a generation of the upright will be blessed.  (Psalm 112:1-2)

&

Whoever loves his life* loses it, and whoever hates his life in this world will preserve it for eternal life.  (John 12:25)

Observation:  As I continue to live out my life in this world, the things that God has brought into my life, I must remember to love.  The things of this world, and attributable to Satan, I will hate, even the attachment that I have had to them.  It is not that I hate myself, not as much as God has created me to be, but I must hate the life I have in this world, so that I will be able to have the eternal life that God has promised us.

Personification:  Patience  It is important to remember to have patience with myself and the people around me that are struggling to bring the good news to the world with me.  The fruit of patience comes as a free gift of grace that flows from the Sacraments to me, not because I am worthy, but because God chose me.  Glory to God in the highest, and peace to people of good will.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to display the patience that you have shown me for my conversion, and still are showing me, to everyone that I may come in contact with today who is not yet converted.  O Almighty God, Who gave unto Blessed Lawrence power to be more than conqueror in his fiery torment; grant unto us, we ask you, the power to quench the flames of our sinful lusts. Through Jesus Christ, we pray.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit…Amen!

2 thoughts on “Saint Lawrence, deacon and martyr…Pray for us!

  1. Maybe that means we know, in our hearts, what a better world would look like. The death of people we love convinces us that there’s something very wrong with this life and this world. Somewhere deep down in our souls, we know that there must be a much better place to live, free from heart-wrenching difficulties and pain. To be sure, God does have a better place He offers us. It will be a completely different system in which His will is done all the time. In this world, God will wipe every tear from people’s eyes. There will be no more mourning, crying, death or pain.

Leave a Reply

