How many times has God forgiven you for your sin?

Standard

 

Stained glass window 1: Jesus Christ

Stained glass window 1: Jesus Christ (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

Gift:  Understanding – With the gift of understanding, we comprehend how we need to live as a follower of Jesus Christ. A person with understanding is not confused by all the conflicting messages in our culture about the right way to live.

 

Reading:  Then Peter approaching asked him, “Lord, if my brother sins against me, how often must I forgive him? As many as seven times?” Jesus answered, “I say to you, not seven times but seventy-seven times.  (Matthew 18:21-22)

 

Observation:  I feel like Jesus could have said, “Didn’t I tell you already that you are to be forgiven only as much as you are willing to forgive?”. He could have continued to ask when Peter expected God’s mercy to run out.  The truth is, as Jesus is revealing here, that God’s mercy and forgiveness is unending, but only in as much as we are willing to forgive others.  We should model God’s mercy for anyone who should need our forgiveness for something they did to us.

 

Personification:  Kindness.  I feel like kindness is the closest fruit that we have to mercy.  Therefore, it is my hope that I can display the fruit of kindness to everyone, including anyone who may have hurt me in any way in the past.  I will do this, not for the reward for any future forgiveness I may need from God, but I am pretty sure I have some making up to do for the mercy God has already shown me.

 

Prayer:  Lord, make me an instrument of your peace…I ask this, as always, in the name the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit…Amen!!!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

