Is the master going to find me doing so…or?

Standard

 

7am sharp - First light.

7am sharp – First light. (Photo credit: http://www.ruffrootcreative.com)

 

Gift:  Understanding – With the gift of understanding, we comprehend how we need to live as a follower of Jesus Christ. A person with understanding is not confused by all the conflicting messages in our culture about the right way to live.

 

Reading:  But if that wicked servant says to himself, ‘My master is long delayed,’ and begins to beat his fellow servants, and eat and drink with drunkards, the servant’s master will come on an unexpected day and at an unknown hour and will punish him severely and assign him a place with the hypocrites, where there will be wailing and grinding of teeth.  (Matthew 24:48-51)

 

Observation:  So, as I read the gospel reading for today’s Mass, I was left with the feeling that if I really can’t leave my sinful ways behind, I will not like the reaction that Jesus will have when I see him.  It doesn’t matter what the rest of the world thinks is the right and proper way to act, if I know that God forbids something, I should forbid myself from doing it.

 

Personification:  Joy. I am going to focus on the fruit of joy again today, and I will try and find different ways to share that joy that comes from God’s grace.  If I can avoid falling into sin by following only the things of God and not of this world, I will be filled with joy that flows freely from the mercy of God.

 

Prayer:  O my God, I am heartily sorry for having offended you in the past, and I detest all my sins, because of your just punishments, but most of all because you are all good and deserving of all my love.  I firmly resolve, with the help of your grace, to repent of my past sinfulness, and avoid the near occasions of sin…I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit…Amen!!!

 

 

Leave a Reply

